It is with extreme pleasure that we share the results of the National High School Journalism Write Off Contest, the on-site competitive portion of the JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention that took place from Nov. 16-19 in Dallas, Texas. Sixteen juniors and seniors represented Marian and the state of Nebraska. Special congratulations to the following nine young women who earned national recognition among the best of the best high school journalists:

Dallas_Journalism2017lr   — Allison Ostapowicz ’18, Honorable Mention in Literary Magazine: Poetry.
   — Kathryn Morey ’18, Honorable Mention in Yearbook Copy/Caption: Clubs
   — Courtney Kilroy ’18, Honorable Mention in Yearbook Copy/Caption: Academics
   — Julia Veik ’18, Excellent in Literary Magazine: Photography
   — Sofia Herrera ’18, Excellent in First Year Photography
   — Audrey Hertel ’18, Excellent in Themed Photography
   — Ellie Farner ’19, Excellent in Yearbook Copy/Caption: Sports
   — Evelyn Paul ’18, Superior in Graphic Design: Logo
   — Shannon McSweeney ’18, Superior in Feature Writing

Other competitors from Marian included Grace Sall ’18, Allison Martin ’18, Hailie Rydel ’18, Audrey Yost ’18, Lizzie Byrne ’19, Joey Carollo ’19 and Lauren Elliot ’19.

Last spring’s BURN literary magazine also earned recognition in the Best Design of the Year Contest sponsored by the National Scholastic Press Association. Erin Walter ’17 designed the spread that was displayed.

Almost 5,000 high school journalists were in attendance at this convention. The participants attended workshops and seminars presented by award-winning journalists and nationally acclaimed media professionals. Students were accompanied by Mrs. Marsha Kalkowski, journalism adviser, and Ms. Megan Piernicky, English teacher.